Category: video

All you can do in one day – if you are Vinnie!

 

We all know, Vinnie Colaiuta is a scary monster on the drums. There is no doubt that he is amongst the very greatest of all time – and this recent session-video gives an insightful impression of his true mastership. Vinnie is tracking for Brian Eisenberg Jazz Orchestra , playing elegantly relaxed, tasteful, musical and overall impressive beyond belief.. He recorded the whole album within one day – and at 2:24 introduced this hilarious (but also helpful) brushes-to-sticks-move. His black shirt helps to “support the illusion” in forefield. Damn.


Here is the full Vinnie-in-the-studio-video from Brian Eisenberg.

Groove Workshop: Michael Bland in the studio with Vulfpeck.


 
During the last weeks a youtube clip of american funk combo Vulfpeck drew a lot of attention from the drumming community. Firstly, because the Michigan based band once more demonstrates their exceptional feel, tightness and funkyness, what, in my eyes, makes them one of the most interestings acts of these days; but also because of their guest drummer`s extraordinary performance: Michael Bland, mostly known for his long year engagement with Prince & The New Power Generation, nails the supposedly simple and “unclicked” groove for their new track “Hero Town” in such a relaxed and yet impressive way, that it brings a smile to every dedicated groove connoisseur. “Deep pocket drumming” at it`s finest – including Michael`s rather unusual stick-holding-technique. I wrote an exclusive workshop for bonedo drums with examples of some of Bland`s typical grooves and fills as well as a transcription and re-recording of the eight bar drum-solo. Check it out on bonedo drums!

Bum Tschak Groove Lab: Creating fun loops from a simple 2-mic-drum-recording

 

this two-part video workshop shows, how simple drum recordings, done with just a laptop-mic, a smartphone or one or two drum microphones, can be manufactured to create individual and fun loops. the (video)-series, produced exclusively for bonedo, is in german language only (sorry abou that..) and has corresponding text-info for part 1 and part 2, which you can also find at bonedo.

Drumtrainer Berlin is online

 

since a couple of weeks drumtrainer berlin is online. at drumtrainer.online there is tips & tricks & performances by many outstanding drummers – and i am happy to be one of them. i recorded a three-part lesson on concepts interpretating musical phrases at the drumtrainer studio (german language only). you can watch the course-teaser for free, all course-modules are available for just a few bucks – if you are a member (from € 1.- / month). come on and explore the all new drumtrainer online and find out about the fine national (rubow, pfennig, lehrmann and many others) and international drummers  (carlock, lewis, robinson …) sharing their knowledge.

the pathfinder

it seems, whatever jojo mayer touches, turnes into something beautiful, spectacular and highly aesthetic. his film “changing time” turns out to be one of the best music-documentaries out there, giving insight to personal history, creative thinking  just as everyday life moments of one of the most proficient ad innovative drumming musicians on our planet. an absolute must watch!

the invincible

with the drumKAT, u.s.-american manufacturer kat inc. / alternate mode developed  the probably best and most complex percussive midi controller ever built. it is a dinosaur, but one that even today still knows how to impress. i wrote a little “secret tip electronics” on bonedo.de featuring my very own drumKAT, version 3.8  – unfortunately german language only.
https://www.bonedo.de/artikel/einzelansicht/elektronik-drums-geheimtipp-1-alternate-mode-drumkat-38.html

electronic drumming 4.0

with sensory percussion, new york / los angeles based drumtech-company sunhouse have started a true revolution. their unseen sensor-technology  in combination with their software application enables the modern drummer to enter a whole new world with a sensory-percussionized acoustic kit – including all new and creative possibilities to manipulate sounds. i was lucky enough to get a four-sensor-complete-kit, which i recently introduced, explained and reviewed on bonedo.de in word, pic & video
(only in german language).

Kategorie: video

Was man an einem Tag alles schaffen kann – wenn man Vinnie ist!

 

Jeder weiss, Vinnie Colaiuta ist ein Monster an den Drums. Kein Zweifel, er gehört zu den Grössten aller Zeiten – und stellt dies auch in einem aktuellen Session-Video erneut unter Beweis. Vinnie nahm kürzlich für Brian Eisenberg Jazz Orchestra auf, sein Spiel ist unglaublich relaxed, geschmackvoll, musikalisch und über alle Massen beeindruckend.. Die Recordings für das gesamte Album wurden, soweit ich weiss, innerhalb eines Tages abgeschlossen – und Vinnie überrascht bei 2:24 mit diesem witzigen, aber hilfreichen Besen-zu-Sticks-Wechsel-Move. Sein schwarzes Shirt hilft, die Verwirrung perfekt zu machen. Verdammt.


Hier geht’s zum ganzen Vinnie-im-Studio-Video von Brian Eisenberg.

Groove Workshop: Michael Bland im Studio mit Vulfpeck.


 
In den letzten Wochen sorgte ein YouTube Clip der amerikanischen Funk Kapelle Vulfpeck für Furore in der Drummer-Community. Zum einen, weil die geniale Band aus Michigan mit ihrem neuesten Song „Hero Town“ erneut belegt, dass sie in Sachen Groove, Style und Tightness zur Zeit so ziemlich das Mass aller frischen Dinge sind, zum anderen aber auch aufgrund der bemerkenswerten Performance ihres Gast-Drummers: Michael Bland, den man vor allem durch seine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Prince & The New Power Generation kennt, nagelt den vermeintlich simplen, „ungeklickten“ Mid-Tempo-Groove mit einer Lässigkeit und Tiefe, dass es eine wahre Freude ist. „Deep-Pocket-Drumming“ allererster Güte – inklusive Michaels etwas seltsam anmutender Stockhaltung. Exklusiv für bonedo drums habe ich einen Workshop dazu verfasst, einige von Michaels typischen Grooves und Fills aus dem Track herausgeschrieben sowie das acht-taktige Drum-Solo transkribiert und nachgetrommelt. Hier geht`s zum Workshop!

Bum Tschak Groove Lab: Loops Basteln aus einer 2-Mikrofon Aufnahme

 

wie man aus unaufwändigen drum-audio-aufnahmen – erstellt mit lediglich z.b. einem laptop-mikrofon, einem smartphone oder  einem oder zwei drum-mikrofonen – kreative und spannende loops basteln kann, zeigt dieser zweiteilige videoworkshop, produziert exklusiv für bonedo. parallel zu den beiden videos könnt ihr dort den begleitenden text zu teil 1 und teil 2 sehen.

Drumtrainer Berlin ist online

 

seit einigen wochen ist dirk erchingers drumtrainer berlin auch online am start. unter drumtrainer.online gibt es tips & tricks & performances von vielen tollen drummern – und ich bin auch dabei. Ich habe im drumtrainer studio einen dreiteiligen workshop aufgenommen, in dem ich über konzepte zum interpretieren von musikalischen phrasen schwadroniere, „phrasen dreschen“. den teaser zum kurs gibt es kostenlos, die drei kurs-teile sind für ein paar euro zu sehen (bei einer mitgliedschaft ab € 1.- monatlich). stöbert doch einfach mal herum und entdeckt die vielen kurse der nationalen (rubow, pfennig, lehrmann uvm.) und internationalen drummer (carlock, lewis, robinson … ).

Weisheiten von Vinnie 2017

twisted rosanna

funky sunday beat

der ewig suchende

es scheint, was auch immer jojo mayer anfasst, heraus kommt stets etwas spektakuläres, innovatives und ästethisch herausragendes. der film „changing times“ entpuppt sich für mich als eine der besten musik-dokus überhaupt, mit einem einblick in die persönliche entwicklungs-geschichte, den kreativen ansatz sowie alltags-momente des vielleicht innovatisten und in der beharrlichkeit seiner vision konsequentesten schlagzeugers unserer zeit.

der unkaputtbare

mit dem drumKAT hat der u.s.-amerikanischer hersteller kat inc. / alternate mode einen der besten und komplexesten midi controller aller zeiten geschaffen.  für die bonedo.de -rubrik „elektronik geheimtipps“ habe ich mein geliebtes drumKAT 3.8 aus dem case geholt und stelle euch den legendären panzer noch einmal vor..
https://www.bonedo.de/artikel/einzelansicht/elektronik-drums-geheimtipp-1-alternate-mode-drumkat-38.html

elektronisches drumming 4.0

mit sensory percussion hat die in new york / los angeles ansässige drumtech-company sunhouse eine wahre revolution losgetreten. mit völlig neuartigen sensoren und der dazugehörigen software wird durch diese bahnbrechende technologie aus einem akustischen kit ein komplettes elektronisches instrument – mit ungeahnten möglichkeiten zur sound-manipulation. ich hatte das glück, ein complete-kit mit vier sensoren zu bekommen, welches ich kürzlich auf bonedo.de ausführlich in wort bild & video vorgestellt habe.