Category: [:en]transcription[:][:de]transcription[:]

Groove Workshop: How John “JR” Robinson created Steve Winwood’s “Higher Love”-Intro

 

Sometimes you hear a piece of music – and feel instantly intrigued. Intuitivly you know, that you just stumbled over something magic. When I heard Steve Winwood’s “Higher Love” featuring John “JR” Robinson on drums for the first time as a fifteen year old, it was exactly like that for me. The percussive, dense and atmospherical feel, created in a mix of lively tracked drums and programmed percussion simply blew me away – and confused me. What’s the ingredients? What’s the patterns? And: Where the funk is the “one”?

Today, many moons later, I take the opportunity to write yet another groove workshop for bonedo drums exclusively, this time shedding some light on the mystery of this grammy award winning groove masterpiece, created  by one of the greatest players in the history of the modern drum kit.

You can find the original recording, a video with John explaining the process in the studio plus my re-recordings and transcriptions of the “Higher Love” -Intro right here at the bonedo workshop (sorry, german language only).

Groove Workshop: Michael Bland in the studio with Vulfpeck.


 
During the last weeks a youtube clip of american funk combo Vulfpeck drew a lot of attention from the drumming community. Firstly, because the Michigan based band once more demonstrates their exceptional feel, tightness and funkyness, what, in my eyes, makes them one of the most interestings acts of these days; but also because of their guest drummer`s extraordinary performance: Michael Bland, mostly known for his long year engagement with Prince & The New Power Generation, nails the supposedly simple and “unclicked” groove for their new track “Hero Town” in such a relaxed and yet impressive way, that it brings a smile to every dedicated groove connoisseur. “Deep pocket drumming” at it`s finest – including Michael`s rather unusual stick-holding-technique. I wrote an exclusive workshop for bonedo drums with examples of some of Bland`s typical grooves and fills as well as a transcription and re-recording of the eight bar drum-solo. Check it out on bonedo drums!

Kategorie: [:en]transcription[:][:de]transcription[:]

Groove Workshop: Wie John „JR“ Robinson Steve Winwoods „Higher Love“ -Intro erfand

 

Manchmal hört man ein Stück Musik – und ist sofort gefangen. Man weiss intuitiv: „Magie“. Genau so war es bei mir, als ich Steve Winwoods „Higher Love“, mit John „JR“ Robinson an den Drums, zum ersten Mal hörte. Dieser percussive, dichte und atmosphärische Mix aus echten Drums und programmiertem Percussion-Loop hat mich, damals fünfzehn, vollkommen umgehauen – und verwirrt: Was sind die Zutaten? Was die Patterns? Und: Wo ist die verdammte“Eins“?

Heute, viele Monde später, nutze ich die Gelegenheit und bastle, exklusiv für bonedo drums, einen weiteren Groove Workshop, in dem wir Licht ins Dunkel dieses Grammy- Award-winning Groove-Meisterwerkes bringen wollen.

Zum bonedo Workshop geht’s hier lang – dort findet Ihr neben dem Original-Recording auch ein sehr unterhaltsames Video, in dem JR den Aufnahme-Prozess erklärt, ausserdem meine „Higher Love“ -Intro-Re-Recordings plus Transkriptionen.
Viel Spass beim auschecken!

Groove Workshop: Michael Bland im Studio mit Vulfpeck.


 
In den letzten Wochen sorgte ein YouTube Clip der amerikanischen Funk Kapelle Vulfpeck für Furore in der Drummer-Community. Zum einen, weil die geniale Band aus Michigan mit ihrem neuesten Song „Hero Town“ erneut belegt, dass sie in Sachen Groove, Style und Tightness zur Zeit so ziemlich das Mass aller frischen Dinge sind, zum anderen aber auch aufgrund der bemerkenswerten Performance ihres Gast-Drummers: Michael Bland, den man vor allem durch seine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Prince & The New Power Generation kennt, nagelt den vermeintlich simplen, „ungeklickten“ Mid-Tempo-Groove mit einer Lässigkeit und Tiefe, dass es eine wahre Freude ist. „Deep-Pocket-Drumming“ allererster Güte – inklusive Michaels etwas seltsam anmutender Stockhaltung. Exklusiv für bonedo drums habe ich einen Workshop dazu verfasst, einige von Michaels typischen Grooves und Fills aus dem Track herausgeschrieben sowie das acht-taktige Drum-Solo transkribiert und nachgetrommelt. Hier geht`s zum Workshop!